Roll of Honour

Some of the world’s best racehorses have brought home the now famous blue and white colours of Sheikh Hamdan bin Rasid Al Maktoum in more than 50 international Gr.1 races including 14 European Classics, the Melbourne Cup, Breeders’ Cup Classic and the Dubai World Cup.

The success of our horses have lead to 7 Leading Owners titles in the UK, the most recent being in 2014.

Awards and Accolades

TBA Silver Salver - Special Merit Award

Shadwell Estate Company Ltd was awarded the TBA Silver Salver in 2015 in recognition of homebred acheivements in the preceding year (2014). Most notable of these as Oaks winner TAGHRRODA and Gimcrack winner MUHAARAR.

Leading Owner’s Title (Great Britain)

2014 saw His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum receive the Leading owners trophy (Great Britain) for the 7th time in nearly 30 years.  
This accolade had been won in 6 previous years: 1990, 1995, 2002, 2005, 2006 and 2009.

During his involvement in British racing, our horses have ensured Sheikh Hamdan has never finished a flat-racing season outside of the top 5 positions in the leading owners table in the UK.  The 2014 Leading Owners Title (GB) came as a result of 136 wins and a total of £3,653,741 in prize money (

Cartier Awards

His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum was awarded the Cartier/ Daily Telegraph Award of Merit for his outstanding support of British Horse Racing.

TAGHROODA won the Cartier Three Year Old Filly 2014 award. She won the Epsom Oaks (Gr.1), The King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes (Gr.1) and was placed 3rd in the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe (Gr.1).

MUHAARAR won the Cartier Sprinter of 2015 award.  He won the Commonwealth Cup (Gr.1), The Prix Maurice de Gheest (Gr.1), Darley July Cup (Gr.1) and the QIPCO Champion Sprint (Gr.1) during 2015.

Longines World’s Best Racehorse Rankings 

TAGHROODA was awarded the best Three Year Old Filly in the world in 2014 according to the Longines World’s Best Racehorse Rankings with a rating of 123.

MUHAARAR was awarded the best Three Year Old Sprinter in the world in 2015 according to the Longines World's Best Racehorse Rankings with a rating of 123.

Racehorse Owners Association (ROA) Awards

In 2004, HAAFHD won the ROA Award for Outstanding Three Year Old Colt in his Guineas winning year.

In 2015, MUHAARAR won the ROA Award for Outstanding Sprinter.

Homebred Classic Winners

NASHWAN Epsom Derby & English 2000 Guineas
ERHAAB Epsom Derby
SHADAYID English 1000 Guineas
HARAYIR English 1000 Guineas
MEHTHAAF Irish 1000 Guineas
ESWARAH English Oaks
TA RIB French 1000 Guineas
HAAFHD English 2000 Guineas
LAHAN English 1000 Guineas
GHANAATI English 1000 Guineas
MAKFI English 2000 Guineas
TAGHROODA English Oaks
AWTAAD Irish 2000 Guineas


Group or Grade 1 winners

Zabeel (NZ) 1990 Australian Guineas
Mahaasin (NZ) 1990 Blue Diamond Stakes
Salsabil (IRE) 1990 One Thousand Guineas
Salsabil (IRE) 1990 Oaks Stakes
Ashal (GB) 1990 Gold Cup
Salsabil (IRE) 1990 Irish Derby
Elmaamul (USA) 1990 Eclipse Stakes
Dayjur (USA) 1990 Nunthorpe Stakes
Elmaamul (USA) 1990 Champion Stakes
Dayjur (USA) 1990 Sprint Cup
Salsabil ( IRE ) 1990 Prix Vermeille
Dayjur (USA) 1990 Prix De L’Abbaye De Longchamp
Shadayid (USA) 1990 Prix Marcel Boussac
Shadayid (USA) 1991 One Thousand Guineas
Marju ( IRE ) 1992 St James’s Palace Stakes
Lahib (USA) 1992 Queen Elizabeth II Stakes
Azzaam (USA) 1993 Sydney Cup
Hamas ( IRE ) 1993 July Cup
Muhtarram (USA) 1993 Champion Stakes
Fraar (USA) 1993 Caulfield Cup
Muhtarram (USA) 1994 Premio Presidente Della Repubblica
Mehthaaf (USA) 1994 One Thousand Guineas
Erhaab (USA) 1994 Derby Stakes
Jeune (GB) 1994 Underwood Stakes
Aqaarid (USA) 1994 Fillies’ Mile
Maroof (USA) 1994 Queen Elizabeth II Stakes
Fard (IRE) 1994 Middle Park Stakes
Jeune (GB) 1994 Melbourne Cup
Jeune (GB) 1994 C F Orr Stakes
Jeune (GB) 1995 Queen Elizabeth Stakes
Harayir (USA) 1995 One Thousand Guineas
Bahri (USA) 1995 St James’s Palace Stakes
Bahri (USA) 1995 Queen Elizabeth II Stakes
Alhaarth (IRE ) 1995 Dewhurst Stakes
Ta Rib (USA) 1996 Poule d’Essai des Pouliches
Hayil (USA) 1997 Middle Park Stakes
Almutawakel 1998 Prix Jean Prat
Elnadim (USA) 1998 July Cup
Aljabr (USA) 1998 Prix de la Salamandre
Mus-if (GB) 1998 National Stakes
Mujahid (USA) 1998 Dewhurst Stakes
Zaha (CAN) 1998 Coronation Futurity
Istidaad (USA) 1999 Australian Cup
Almutawakel 1999 Dubai World Cup
Aljabr (USA) 1999 Champagne Lanson Sussex Stakes
Mutafaweq (USA) 1999 St Leger Stakes
Muhtathir (GB) 1999 Premo Vittorio Di Capua
Lahan (GB) 2000 One Thousand Guineas
Aljabr (USA) 2000 Lockinge Stakes
Mutafaweq (USA) 2000 Grosser Preis Des Westdeutschen
Muhtathir (GB) 2000 Prix Jacques Le Marois
Mutafaweq (USA) 2000 Canadian International
Mutafaweq (USA) 2001 Coronation Cup
Kutub (IRE ) 2001 Grosser Dallmayr Preis-Bayerisches, Zuchternnen
Sakhee (USA) 2001 International Stakes
Kutub (IRE ) 2001 Preis Von Europa
Mutamam (GB) 2001 Invitational Stakes
Sakhee (USA) 2001 Prix De L’Arc de Triomphe
Nayef (USA) 2001 Champion Stakes
Kutub (IRE ) 2001 Gran Premio Del Jockey Club e Coppa D’oro
Nayef (USA) 2002 Dubai Sheema Classic
Malhub (USA) 2002 Golden Jubilee Stakes
Nayef (USA) 2002 International Stakes
Nayef (USA) 2003 Prince of Wales’s Stakes
Ekraar (USA) 2003 Gran Premio Del Jockey Club e Coppa D’oro
Haafhd (GB) 2004 2000 Guineas
Haafhd (GB) 2004 Champion Stakes
Eswarah (GB) 2005 Oaks Stakes
Nadeem (AUS) 2006 Blue Diamond Stakes
Invasor (ARG) 2006 Pimlico Special Handicap
Jazil (USA) 2006 Belmont Stakes
Invasor (ARG) 2006 Suburban Handicap
Invasor (ARG) 2006 Whitney Handicap
Rewaa ya (NZ) 2006 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes
Tawqeet (USA) 2006 Metropolitan Handicap
Tawqeet (USA) 2006 Caulfield Cup
Invasor (ARG) 2006 Breeders’ Cup Classic
Invasor (ARG) 2007 Donn Handicap
Invasor (ARG) 2007 Dubai World Cup
Lazer Sharp (AUS) 2007 South Australian Derby
Morador Llers (ARG) 2007 Gran Criterium
Mach Glory (ARG) 2007 Estrellas Juvenile
Lahudood (GB) 2007 Flower Bowl Invitational Stakes
Lahudood (GB) 2007 Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf
Daaher (CAN) 2007 Cigar Mile Handicap
Reaan (AUS) 2008 Blue Diamond Stakes
Tamayuz (GB) 2008 Prix Jean Prat
Tamayuz (GB) 2008 Prix Jacques Le Marois
Naaqoos (GB) 2008 Prix Jean-Luc Lagardere (Grand Criterium)
Alwajeeha (USA) 2008 Queen Elizabeth II Challenge Cup Stakes
Albertus Maximus (USA) 2009 Donn Handicap
Ghanaati (USA) 2009 One Thousand Guineas
Ghanaati (USA) 2009 Coronation Stakes
Arcano ( IRE ) 2009 Prix Morny
Aqlaam (GB) 2009 Prix du Moulin de Longchamp
Awzaan (GB) 2009 Middle Park Stakes
Bethrah (IRE) 2010 Irish One Thousand Guineas
Soft Falling Rain (SA) 2012 SA Nursery
Mukhadram (GB) 2014 Eclipse Stakes
Taghrooda (GB) 2014 Epsom Oaks
Taghrooda (GB) 2014 King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes
Entisaar (AUS) 2015 Allan Robertson Championship
Ertijaal (AUS) 2015 Cape Derby
Majmu (AUS) 2015 Empress Club Stakes
Muhaarar (GB) 2015 Commonwealth Cup
Muhaarar (GB) 2015 July Cup
Muhaarar (GB) 2015 Prix Maurice de Gheest
Muhaarar (GB) 2015 QIPCO British Champions Sprint
Awtaad (IRE) 2016 Irish Two Thousand Guineas
Muarrab (GB) 2016 Dubai Golden Shaheen
Tamarkuz (USA) 2016 Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile
Almanaar (GB) 2017 Gulfstream Turf Handicap
Battaash (IRE) 2017 Prix de l'Abbaye
Takaful (USA) 2017 Vosburgh Stakes
Eqtidaar (IRE) 2018 Commonwealth Cup
Soqrat (AUS) 2018 Premier Champion Stakes
Soqrat (AUS) 2018 Cape Guineas
Atyaab (AUS) 2019 Cape Derby 
Qafila (AUS) 2019 SA Derby
Mustashry (GB) 2019 Lockinge Stakes
Battaash (IRE) 2019 Nunthorpe Stakes
Soft Falling Rain
At Talaq